Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Susan tutors in Tulsa, OK

Susan O.

Private tutor in Tulsa, OK

5Susan O.

5 reviews

Education

I have two openings left for new students who want to work with me for at least two months. In the Fall Semester, I do not accept short-term students (less than 2 months). Many of my students have told me that I was the best tutor or teacher they ever had. I take the time to figure out what the student is thinking and which parts of that are correct and incorrect. Then I can straighten out any misconceptions or weaknesses. I charge $40/hr with a 2-hour minimum on long-term situations (over 2 months) and $50/hr for short-term (less than 2 months). University of Tulsa: MS Math, MS Geophysics West Texas State (WTSU): Bachelor Math, minor Computer Science (took 30+ hours of computer but did not get a computer degree since it was in the school of Business which required 15 more hours of business) Tulsa Community College: Associate Mobile Development in Computer Science, Associate Spanish, Certificate International Language with Emphasis in Spanish and Latin Oklahoma Teaching Certificate, certified to teach High School: Math through Calculus and Stats, Earth Science, Computer Science, Physical Science, Physics, English. K-12: Spanish, ESL/ELL, Mild and Moderate Disabilities. I am currently a member of an ELCA Lutheran church, and I have been a member of fundamental Christian churches (Southern Baptist, United Pentecostal), so I am very familiar with the beliefs and the concerns in educating children of these faiths. I am becoming familiar with the Catholic faith since since a family that I homeschool is Catholic and my son attended a Catholic private school.

Experience

I have been a paid tutor almost every year since I was in 3rd grade fractions. Even when I was a child, parents and teachers recognized I had a gift for figuring out where the student's thinking went astray and for devising a way to correct the problem. I am aware that everyone learns differently, and I have great patience to determine what your learning style is and what techniques work best for you. Many people have told me that I was the best tutor they ever had. Even when I have a full-time programming job, I always find someone to tutor in some subject. It's what I do best, and it makes me feel like I am improving someone else's life. I am currently starting a new business writing mobile apps for iPhone/iPad and Windows Phone; it will be a while before that brings in a steady paycheck, and I am teaching as an adjunct (part-time) developmental math at TCC and computer science at RSU. Tutoring will be my main source of income, and I have two more openings for new students. My SAT score in math was 780 (800 is perfect). I home schooled my oldest son 4th-8th grade because teachers and psychologists didn't believe in his ability to learn; he has Asperger's form of autism, ADD/ADHD, and severe visual processing disorder. His teacher in 4-year-olds and a pediatrician both said he'd never learn to read, and the pediatrician and a psychologist both said he'd never be able to leave home. His SAT scores: a perfect 800 Reading, 700 Math, and 790 Writing, and he was his school's first National Merit Scholar Finalist based on his PSAT scores. I can't take all the credit for that, but I'm sure that at least part of it is due to my tutoring. He attended OK City University and graduated with honors. He recently was awarded a full tuition scholarship to work on his PhD, and he received a teaching stipend to cover the rest of his expenses. I have 14 years experience programming computers and 14 years doing tech work and training individuals to use their computers and Office products like Word and Excel, as well as QuickBooks accounting package. I taught college Calculus for 4 years, college Algebra and Computer Concepts for 3 years, high school math and computer science for 2 1/2 years. I am currently teaching at Rogers State and TCC as an adjunct professor of computer science and developmental math. I tutored for Oxford Learning Center for 1 1/2 years: ACT/SAT prep and homework support, mostly high school math, English, and Spanish. I have tutored on my own for 30+ years on any subject that I knew how to do, mostly math and computer science. I even tutored some things that I did not know how to do (I always disclosed this if that was the case), but the student had a book and I could figure it out a lot faster than he/she could. If I ever get stuck on something that I feel that I should have known, I stop the clock so you are not paying for my looking things up. I always have my iPad with me, so we can do Internet research wherever we are, and I have a library membership to SafariOnlineBooks, giving me instant searchable access to thousands of books and videos. I enjoy teaching college students, adults who want to learn so they can help their kids learn, and high school kids. I am good with middle school students if they really want to learn, and I'm good with gifted or highly motivated elementary students. I am also quite good with any age person who speaks another language but wants to learn English. I am uniquely qualified to tutor students with learning disabilities and have the patience and talent to do so (besides my son, I have taught two mentally challenged girls to read and tutored College Algebra and Spanish to students through the Disabled Student Resource Center at Tulsa Community College). For the past 3 years, I tutored two homeschooled brothers in middle school so that they could be in a high-level tennis program. The younger one initially had some serious problems with English (it was not his first language) and with study skills and test-taking. Within a year, his scores in all subjects had come up above average, and by the next year, he was above 85% in every subject. I prefer meeting at TCC SE Campus or at an eating place or library near my home in South Tulsa although I might be able to arrange elsewhere. If I have to travel more than a few minutes away from home or off my beaten path, there might be an extra charge. I am often at TCC SE and Panera at 91st & Memorial. I normally have a 2 hour minimum.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee, Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I live to learn new things. I am almost always taking some class somewhere. I became fluent in Spanish after the age of 40. My most recent hobby is photography. The hobby I spend the most time on is gardening. I love computer programming and all things technology. I like to play with photos in PhotoShop and turn them into works of art that often look nothing like what they started out as. I used to do a lot of clay sculptures and play old-time fiddle; I hope to get back to both someday. When I was younger, I was a very competitive amateur tennis player. I love classic movies and classic books (odds are I have read whatever book your English teacher has assigned). My favorite author is Jorge Borges, a 20th century Argentinian philosopher and writer of Spanish poems and short stories, although I love Shakespeare, whom I consider to be the best writer who ever lived. My favorite novel is A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. My favorite color is violet. My favorite movie is Star Wars, the original, which is now called #4. I have two sons; one is working on his PhD in Philosophy at Bowling Green State in Ohio, and the other attends Union 8th-Grade Center. The younger one is an actor/singer/dancer, so I stay busy taking him to play or opera practice and auditions.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!